It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Sheila at  Book Journey and my good friend over at Early Nerd Special.  The purpose of the meme is to discuss books we are reading this week, as well as books we completed the previous week.

Books I Completed Last Week:

The American Civil War By John Keegan: I became a big fan of Keegan’s work when I was completing a paper in University about the causes and symptoms of the First World War. Keegan’s wit and insight into the minds and political attitudes of the leaders of both sides during the bloodiest war in American history is just as adept as his European studies. While I do not put as much stock in the motivational factors of the South as Keegan does (hint: its about Christianity not slaves), I do believe he understands how politics manifests itself in war. To use a tiresome analogy, Keegan writes best when he views war as, “a continuation of politics by other means.”

Books I’m Reading This Week:

The Red Flag: A History of Communism by David Priestland

I am excited to work my way through this. It came highly recommended by some of my friends in the European Left.

So, what are you reading this week?

