What I Read is taken from a series of interviews with various DC journalists and newsmakers to try and understand how they process and examine the day’s events. This is my contribution.

From The Atlantic:

How do other people deal with the torrent of information that pours down on us all? Do they have some secret? Perhaps. We are asking various Journalists who seem well-informed to describe their media diets.

Normally when I wake up my Blackberry is the first contact I see, since it’s my alarm. In addition, my Blackberry is my connection to news during the day if I am at work or away from my computer. When lying in bed after I am awoken, I will check to see what emails I got overnight from friends abroad, or (and this has become more prevalent) what newsletters were sent out to me.

After a quick check of the overnight news and my twitter feed using UberSocial, a program on my Blackberry that organizes Twitter differently and is much easier to use than actual Twitter, I will listen to NPR’s top stories while getting ready. On my way into work I will either listen to the previous days “Today in Parliament” podcast or, more likely, to a random playlist of music that has nothing to do with politics, the financial industry, or general news. I call this my “Morning Downtime.”

At the office I keep my Google reader open, and am refreshing UberSocial often. Increasingly Google Reader has become the way I read news online. I rarely actually visit an actual site anymore, unless its Slate. I like the layout of the site, and like to poke around if I have a free moment, though I keep them in my feeds anyway. My office keeps CNBC on in our lobby, and when I get a moment I will look up and check the current ticker. My office also gets hard copies of Time, Newsweek and the Wall Street Journal, respectively. In the morning while waiting for my coffee I will page through the WSJ for any interesting stories or commentary. At lunch, I normally try and read something non financial related like Jezebel or the Sun.

If I work out, I will listen to either podcasts or audio books. One of my favourite audio podcasts is to listen to Slate’s Culture Gabfest.

At home we keep copies of The Economist, The Nation and different mailers. I will read both in a week.

At night, I watch probably 90 minutes of real television a week. The three shows on Thursday comedy on NBC, Community, 30 Rock, Office, though as of late less of the Office. Otherwise I will have News Hour on when I get home and am relaxing, just as background noise while cooking dinner.

In bed, I like to read between one of four or five different books I keep near me. Not to be pretentious, I just need an alternating list of subjects. I try to knock out a chapter or so a night, though as of late my reading has slowed.

Falling asleep, I like to doze off to podcasts of either The History of Rome or Stuff You Should Know. Both are excellent podcasts and are very good at helping me relax my brain at the end of the day.

That’s my day.

