This new section to the blog debuted two weeks ago, and will now be a bi-weekly meme hosted here at Shoegazing. You can read the debut post here.
The Five Things I am Currently Obsessed With:

1. The Palestine Peace Process:

While always an interest that I feel a great deal about, recent events have made it so that it has been more on my mind than usual. Namely the building of new settlements, the influence of AIPAC on policy and the failure of the establishment in the Occupied Territories. Reread earlier posts this week for a rundown on what you may have missed.

2. Van Morrison:

I recently started getting into Van Morrison in a serious way. I found his discography that I haven’t heard in quite a while. The “Belfast Cowboy” has made some great albums, and two of my favorites, The Healing Game and Tupelo Honey, are great likely some of the best music made.

3. Hole’s Celebrity Skin (album):

As far as alternative (read: good) music goes, there is a definite deficit of talented female frontwomen. I guess that’s part of what makes The Joy Formidable such an impressive and amazing act. Nevertheless, as much as I hate to say it, Courtney Love pre-drama and self destruction was at the helm of one of the best bands of the 1990’s. The album Celebrity Skin, whose hit lead single of the same name, combined glamour with a uniquely bourgeoisie sense of self-loathing. It’s a fantastic album and one that I come back to every year or so and just binge on. (I mean hey, it is Courtney Love).

4. Happy Endings:

I’m not a huge TV person, and when I do, its normally a binge and then I am done with a show. It also takes me an insanely long time to care about the characters. Nevertheless, this show has heart, and despite a bad casting choice (I’m looking at you, Elisha Cuthbert) the show has been picked up for another season. The story of some 30’somethings living in Chicago after their two best friends split at the alter. As the two try to make it as friends, and the rest of the gang tries to hold it together, comedy ensures (naturally).

5. Summer Fashion

As I put away my well-worn cardigans and blazers (for the most part) I realised I have little in the way of actual clothing for summer. This month will likely be me visiting Macys or the Gap a few times.

So, What are you currently obsessed with?

