Adam "MCA" Yauch, 1964-2012

Adam “MCA” Yauch, 1964-2012
Photo Credit: http://www.clatl.com

A lot of what could be said already has by people who knew the famous MC a lot better than some fan like myself. I’ll only add that it makes me supremely sad that his passing came about so soon.

The Beastie Boys were my first favourite rap group. I remember thinking that Yauch had the best rhymes of any of the group, and his unabashed gray locks made him one of the most easily identifyable musicians.

Reading about Yauch’s death this afternoon was very hard to read, and while I will not be tearing my clothes or covering my head with ashes, I think it is important to note what an amazing legacy he left behind and not just in music. His support of Tibetan independence, film and peace ought to be included in any discussion of his memory.

Music has lost one of the great MC’s, and a decent human being as well.

