In this week’s edition of The New Yorker, Jeffrey Toobin talks to US Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg.

The best quote:

“Ginsberg speaks warmly of O’Connor, who shared the same generational struggles. indeed Ginsberg see the O’Connor departure (and the arrival of Alito) as the turning point for the modern court. “The one big change in the time I’ve  been here has been the loss of Justice O’Connor,” Ginsberg told me. ” I think if you look at the term when she was not with us, every five-to-four decision when I was with the four, I would have been with the five if she had stayed.”

This seems to me to be a pretty pointed barb against O’Connor, who left the court during the tumultuous times of the early to mid aughts, that saw a slew of Court decisions that would have meant a greater liberalization of the court.

